Cordes sur Ciel ” The floating city”

Built in 1222 by Raimon VII, The Count of Toulouse as a bastide. It was renamed in 1993 as Cordes sur Ciel (in the sky) to attract tourists as it seems to be literally floating above the clouds at certain times of the year!

After climbing Bruniquel and walking around Puycelsi and Castelnau de Montmiral we decided to take the mini train up to the top and walk down. We were all exhausted and it was a particularly hot day. Cheating I know but we walked it once before and let’s just say never again! The ride is very pleasurable as it climbs up the outside of the town giving you the opportunity to soak up the beauty of it’s endless views.

Finally reached the top
Still a little to climb but nearly there
These hilltop villages are exhausting but well worth the effort. Poor Sienna took some persuading though.
We are dragging behind because every part of this town is a picture opportunity. Now that I have turned to blogging, I see myself in your shoes and wonder what you would like me to take a picture of. Best to take many when you are away somewhere so you have no regrets. I used to only take a few but now I look back and wish I had taken more. Views are nice to shoot but without a loved one in there it means nothing… You will notice that I am not in any but I hate seeing myself and don’t really understand people who can take endless selfies. It bores me. I don’t want this blog to be all about me but more how I see the world.. My daughter is far more photogenic and if this blog does not interest anyone at least I have my memories…

This town is full of Art and Craft shops. I could seriously live here. The perfect home for an artist

“Let’s just get souvenirs at the bottom”
We are in Occitanie, region of the templar knights
A side street falling into the abyss. They were all like this

The building above was the highlight on this trip

As we walked past I noticed these huge sculptures in the windows and I knew I just had to go in. As I turned the corner to enter I saw a picture of an elderly lady and assumed it was her exhibit and she was the sculptor. Now that would be impressive to still be sculpting these huge pieces at that age!

The sign said free entry and it said “we are responsible for ourselves.”

strange statement

Once I was in, I understood why. The impressive wooden sculptures were plonked everywhere and some quite dangerously. There was no-one working there to sell or explain or even to stop you from stealing anything but then again I would love to see someone trying to walk out with these large pieces of art unnoticed.

The house was untouched.  It was as if someone had bought it but not yet restored it or decorated. There were pictures everywhere of this indian lady with some strange quotes and I along with many was fascinated and intrigued. Who had done these art pieces? Who was this lady? Were these items even for sale? There was nobody here to explain…

As I climbed to the top floor I saw a meditation room and a small garden. It felt quite eerie and at the same time very peaceful. I took a quick picture of Sienna in the garden overlooking the square and left as Steve and Jade were waiting for us.

One of the large sculptures

I could have stayed there so much longer and tried to figure out what it was all about. There seemed to be a clear spiritual message and I like to consider myself a little on the mystic spectrum but as usual my family are sceptical and don’t really see the world in the same way so I could not stay as long as I would have liked.

I later googled this exhibit and this is what I found out.

The sculptor is apparently a man called Jean-Jacques Enjalbert. He used to be a racing driver and took part in the Monte Carlo Rally in 1983. He lived in Paris and one day picked up a book in a library which changed his life. He subsequently went to India and I guess came back a changed man. Spirituality had engulfed him. He then moved to this area of France and bought several houses which he restored and became a sculptor. This house on the square is his latest purchase and has not yet been renovated just as I had thought. He has dedicated this exhibit to a famous Indian spiritual leader called Amandamayi Ma ( the lady in all the pictures) who must have changed his life. I still do not know if his pieces are actually for sale or he just sculpts for peace of body and soul. I find his story fascinating as he has probably found true happiness, a way to express himself.

Jean-Jacques Enjalbert
Monte Carlo Rally 1983. He is the driver

I feel like I understand him because when I paint I think of everything. I actually have time to contemplate life. It is a very peaceful existence being an artist.

Coffee/wine break with a view before we head down the hill.
View from our table
We were sat on the left of this picture but on the right was a couple sat on the wall kissing and hugging. I really wanted to take a picture of them as it was a perfect example of the romance you see all the time in France. I deciced it probably was not appropriate to do so.

The start of our descent

What a great place to put a bench

The other two disappeared ahead of us. I don’t see the point of going somewhere and not exploring

View from the bottom

Next blog – last village of our busy day – Najac

Najac

Follow my blog on Bloglovin’

13 thoughts on “Cordes sur Ciel ” The floating city”

Leave a comment